Jesus told us that when we do things for people who are in need, it is like we did those things for Him!  Have you ever met someone in need or helped someone in need?  Imagine that person were Jesus himself!  Jesus told us to treat these people as though they were Jesus!  So, this Christmas, let's find some people in need and care for them as if they were Jesus.  Talk to your parents about how we can shop in a way that helps people in need.


Read these verses with your family:
Matthew 25.31-40
When the Son of Man comes in his glory with all of his angels, he will sit on his royal throne.  The people of all nations will be brought before him, and he will separate them, as shepherds separate their sheep from their goats He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. Then the king will say to those on his right, "My father has blessed you! Come and receive the kingdom that was prepared for you before the world was created. When I was hungry, you gave me something to eat, and when I was thirsty, you gave me something to drink. When I was a stranger, you welcomed me, and when I was naked, you gave me clothes to wear. When I was sick, you took care of me, and when I was in jail, you visited me."
Then the ones who pleased the Lord will ask, "When did we give you something to eat or drink? When did we welcome you as a stranger or give you clothes to wear or visit you while you were sick or in jail?"
The king will answer, "Whenever you did it for any of my people, no matter how unimportant they seemed, you did it for me."



Ask your parents what these verses mean.  How do they make you feel?  What do they tell us about God?  What do they tell us about how God wants us to treat others?  Especially people in need?  Think of a time you helped someone in need.  Tell your family that story.  Talk about how we can celebrate Christmas differently because of these verses.

Then say this prayer:
Dear Jesus, please help me to see you in all the people who have needs and to care for them.  Help me put you and other people before myself.  This Christmas, show me ways to care for those in need.  Amen.


Then color this color sheet and think about what it means to be a "sheep" in the story you just read.
Picture



Leave a Reply.